Thesis word cloud…

I haven’t decided yet if this is a good thing or a gross under-representation of what it’s like to write a thesis. Sixty-nine thousand plus words,  seven chapters, two hundred and forty nine pages, eighty-nine figures, thirteen tables, and a brain aneurism summarised into a word cloudThesis

But the idea for this came to me when a while back I was congratulating a friend of mine on completing her thesis. She mentioned to me that her favourite word in it was “vitiate” (to impair or weaken the effectiveness of). Odd, I thought to myself. To be quite specific in that way. Then I thought to myself what is my favourite word from my thesis. After coming up blank the first time, the second time I thought of my favourtie word that wasn’t in my thesis. Mainly because my examiner thought it was funny I described certain effects of RNAi “abhorent” (causing repugnance; detestable; loathsome) instead of “aberrant” (departing from the right, normal, or usual course). For a lot of the experiments that didn’t work, I stand by my original phrasing.

Despite not coming up with a favourite word from my thesis, I do have a favourite sentence — mine spans the last two pages, after appendix, references and all:

“ma voix est faible…”

“…et même, un peu profane.”

5 Responses to “Thesis word cloud…”


  1. 1 create a blog March 9, 2013 at 20:48

    I think that everything published was actually very logical.
    However, what about this? what if you were to write a awesome headline?
    I mean, I don’t want to tell you how to run your website, however suppose you added a headline that makes people want more? I mean Thesis word cloud | science left untitled is a little plain. You should peek at Yahoo’s
    home page and see how they create news headlines to get people to click.

    You might add a related video or a related picture or two to get readers
    interested about everything’ve written. In my opinion, it would bring your blog a little bit more interesting.

  2. 2 Katrin May 31, 2013 at 20:38

    Polymers in the cleaning product used in this process encapsulate or “crystalise” dirt particles into dry residue after which
    will be removed at the end of the process. As can be
    seen from the above applications, cleaners of this type have
    a wide variety of uses. Before you purchase, though, always make sure
    that these universal tools will work with the cleaner you have at home.

  3. 3 vimeo.com July 26, 2013 at 23:39

    Stopwatch – Are you in training or simply just trying to lose weight.
    Some sellers are comfy with combining shipping if you
    buy more than 1 watch, so avoid being afraid to ask. When you are looking to buy a
    watch online, one of the best ways to decide
    if a wristwatch is right for you is always to spend time reading reviews.

  4. 4 Curt July 29, 2013 at 17:32

    Or (with all the 608) you are able to use those speakers like a stereo in another room.
    There can be a few home theatre system suppliers online who provide as much as 50%
    discounts. So don’t choose a home theatre speaker system according to appearance only as it can certainly disappoint you while using sound quality.


  1. 1 Thesis word cloud… Part II « science left untitled Trackback on July 9, 2012 at 08:58
Comments are currently closed.



What had I twaught…


